Nunavik ᓄᓇᕕᒃ

Lands of the Inuit people…

Born in Kangiqsualujjuaq – ᑲᖏᖅᓱᐊᓗᔾᔪᐊᖅ, at the mouth of the George River in northern Quebec, Johnny May is a living legend… The man who is one of the pioneers of bush pilots in the far north carries out a candy distribution every year on December 25 while flying over Kuujjuaq. Well known for this tradition, it is his numerous rescue and assistance missions across the Arctic tundra that have made his reputation. For those who have had the chance to meet him, it is his kindness and humility that make his legend…

Every summer, he comes to Black Point to fish for Arctic char and salmon for the winter. It is here, under the benevolent eye of Louisa, that the family lives to the rhythm of the tides, forging for future generations the ancestral practices of the Inuit people.

Stretching above the 55th parallel, Nunavik (ᓄᓇᕕᒃ) is the northernmost region of Quebec. This 507,000 km2 pristine territory — bordered by Hudson Bay to the west, Hudson Strait to the north, Ungava Bay and Labrador to the east — makes up one third of the province and is almost equal to the size of France. Presenting a remarkable display of truly wild tundra, taiga forest, scenic mountains, untamed rivers and countless lakes, this unspoiled region is the ideal playground for nature lovers in search of a true adventure.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Nunavik ᓄᓇᕕᒃ

Terres du peuple inuit…

Né à Kangiqsualujjuaq – ᑲᖏᖅᓱᐊᓗᔾᔪᐊᖅ, à l’embouchure de la rivière George, dans le nord du Québec, Johnny May est  une légende vivante… Celui qui est l’un des pionniers  des pilotes de brousse du grand Nord effectue chaque année le 25 décembre une distribution de bonbon en survolant Kuujjuaq. Bien connu pour cette tradition, c’est bien ses nombreuse missions de sauvetage ou d’assistance à travers fait la toundra arctique qui ont fait sa réputation. Pour ceux qui ont eu la chance de le rencontrer, c’est sa gentillesse et son humilité qui font sa légende…

Chaque été, il vient à Black Point pour pêcher les ombles chevaliers arctiques et le saumon pour l’hiver. C’est ici sous l’oeil bienveillant de Louisa que la famille vit au rythme des marées forgant pour les générations futures des  pratiques ancestrales du peuples inuit.

Le Nunavik (en inuktitut : ᓄᓇᕕᒃ) est l’incarnation même de ce Grand Nord qui fait tant rêver du Québec. Recouvrant le tiers nord de la belle province, cet immense territoire, qui s’étire au delà du 55e parallèle sur 507,000 km2, est presque aussi grand que la France. C’est là-haut, aux confins du Québec, que sont dissimulés ses paysages les plus époustouflants. Cette contrée de toundra sauvage, de forêt boréale, de montagnes grandioses, d’innombrables lacs et rivières est le terrain de jeu par excellence des voyageurs en quête d’aventure.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter